Magazine Layout using Adobe InDesign

Creating guides:

Screen Shot 2017-03-23 at 12.25.38

After selecting the page size I wanted the first thing I did was to create rows, column and gutters. This will help me layout my magazine in an aesthetically pleasing way.

 

Rule of thirds layout:

Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 11.30.13Screen Shot 2017-03-24 at 11.30.26

This is most likely going to be the standard grid I will use throughout as it works very affectively. Of course there will be pages that don’t use this layout but I can force myself singing this regularly.

 

Magazine Layout plans:

For this I have been experimenting with different layouts using the following key – red = text box and blue = image

 

Front cover layout ideas:

Contents Page:

Double spreads:

 

I experimented with both symmetrical and asymmetrical layouts using different grids.

Leave a Reply

